Skip to main content

Background Image for Header:

Academic Calendar

SUMMER 2022 SEMESTER

May 16 through August 5 -  Session 1, 12 weeks

  • May 17 - Last Day to Add or Drop without a "W"  (Session 1)
  • July 8 - Last Day to Drop with a "W" (Session 1) 

May 16 through June 24 -  Session S6A, 6 weeks  

  • May 17 - Last Day to Add or Drop without a "W"  (Session S6A)
  • June 10 - Last Day to Drop with a "W" (Session S6A)

May 16 through July 15 -  Session S9A, 9 weeks

  • May 17 - Last Day to Add or Drop without a "W"  (Session S9A)
  • June 24 - Last Day to Drop with a "W" (Session S9A) 

Monday, May 30  -  Memorial Day Recess: College Closed 

June 6 through August 5 -  Session S9B, 9 weeks 

  • June 7 - Last Day to Add or Drop without a "W"  (Session S9B)
  • July 15 - Last Day to Drop with a "W" (Session S9B)

June 27 through August 5 -  Session S6B, 6 weeks

  • June 28 - Last Day to Add or Drop without a "W"  (Session S6B)
  • July 22- Last Day to Drop with a "W" (Session S6B)                                   

Monday, July 4 -  Independence Day Recess (Observed): College Closed

View the printable version of the Summer 2022 Academic Calendar

FALL 2022 SEMESTER

Friday, August 12 - Faculty Contract (9-month start date)

Sunday, August 14 - Student Services Day, 10 a.m. - 2 p.m.

Tuesday, August 16 - Student Services, faculty/staff in offices 8 a.m. - 3 p.m.

Wednesday, August 17 - Classes Begin

Tuesday, August 23 - Last Day to Register, Add/Drop Courses, Make Section Changes, Change Pass/Fail and Audit

Monday, September 5 - Labor Day Recess: College Closed

Friday, September 16 - Fall Graduation Deadline

Thursday, October 6 (Noon) - Mid-Semester Grade Reports Due

Friday, October 7 - Fall Break

Monday, October 10 - Second 8-Week Classes Begin

Tuesday, October 11 - Priority Pre-Registration for Spring 2023

Tuesday, October 18 - Pre-Registration for Spring 2023

Tuesday, November 8 - General Election: College Closed

Tuesday, November 15 - Last Day to Withdraw from a Course or the College

Saturday, November 19 through Sunday, November 27 - Thanksgiving Recess

Thursday, December 8 - Last Day of Classes

Friday, December 9 - Prep Day for Finals

Monday, December 12 through Friday, December 16 - Final Examination Week

Monday, December 19 (Noon) - Final Grades Due

View the printable version of the Fall 2022 Academic Calendar


Special Days of Concern

West Virginia University’s diverse student body includes students from a wide variety of faith communities. Religious holidays from different faith traditions occasionally fall on regular class days or scheduled exam days throughout the year.

Faculty are encouraged to respect the religious observances of our students of all faiths and denominations.

When a scheduled class or lab session falls on an observed religious holiday, this may mean excusing students from attending class and accepting make-up work. (Students are responsible for requesting accommodation for their absence in advance and for making up any missed work.)

The Office of Diversity, Equity and InclusionOffice of Global Affairs, and the  Provost's Office are available as resources to support Instructors review of religious holiday accommodation requests.

The following website may be helpful in identifying the high holy days of various religions:

Other events that may justify an excused absence include illness of the student, illness of an immediate family member, death of an immediate family member, or extreme weather.

Absences stemming from work duties other than military obligation (e.g., unexpected changes in shift assignments) and traffic/transit problems should not typically qualify for excused absence.

If an instructor chooses to allow excused absences for these other events, the stated attendance  policy for the course should specify the number of days that may be missed and instructions for contacting the instructor for the excused absence.

Instructors may request third party documentation.

West Virginia University's institutional attendance policy may be found in the  WVU Catalog.

Faculty members who have questions or concerns about the academic calendar should send an email to Shirley Robinson in the Provost's Office.