Skip to main content

Background Image for Header:

Academic Calendar


Summer 2019

Sunday, May 13 - Friday, August 2

  • Session 1, 12 weeks

Monday, May 13 - Friday, June 21

  • Session S6A, 6 weeks

Monday, May 13 - Friday, July 12

  • Session S9A, 9 weeks
Tuesday, May 14
  • Last Day to Add or Drop (Without a "W") from Session 1 (12 weeks), Session S6A (6 weeks), and Session S9A (9 weeks) 

Monday, May 27

  • Memorial Day Recess: College Closed

Monday, June 3 - Friday, August 2 

  • Session S9B, 9 weeks

Tuesday, June 4
  • Last Day to Add or Drop (Without a "W") from Session S9B (9 weeks)
Saturday, June 8 
  • Last Day to Drop (With a "W") from Session S6A (6 weeks)
Saturday, June 22 
  • Last Day to Drop (With a "W") from Session S9A (9 weeks)

Monday, June 24 - Friday, August 2

  • Session S6B, 6 weeks

Tuesday, June 25 
  • Last Day to Add or Drop (Without a "W") from Session S6B (6 weeks)

Thursday, July 4

  • Independence Day Recess: College Closed

Friday, July 5 
  • Last Day to Drop (With a "W") from Session 1 (12 weeks) 
Saturday, July 13
  • Last Day to Drop (With a "W") from Session S9B (9 weeks)
Saturday, July 20
  • Last Day to Drop (With a "W") from Session S6B (6 weeks)


Fall 2019

Sunday, 
  August 18

  • Student Services Day

Monday, 
  August 19

  • Welcome Week Activities 

Tuesday,
  August 20

  • Student Services Day, faculty/staff in offices 8:00 am to 3:00 pm 

Wednesday,
  August 21

Classes Begin

Tuesday,
  August 27

Last Day to Register, Add/Drop Courses, Make Section Changes, Change Pass/Fail and Audit 

Monday, 
  September 2

Labor Day Recess-College Closed 

Thursday, 
 October 10 (Noon)

Mid-Semester Grade Reports Due 

Thursday, October 10 thru Friday, October 11

Fall Break

Tuesday,  
  October 22

Pre-Registration for Spring 2020 

Tuesday, 
  November 19

Last Day to Withdraw from a Course or the College

Saturday, November 23 thru Sunday, December 1 

Thanksgiving Recess 

Thursday,
  December 12

Last Day of Classes

Friday,
  December 13

Prep Day for Finals


Monday, December 16 thru Friday, December 20


Final Examination Week

Monday, 
   December 23 (Noon)


Final Grade Reports for All Students Due


Helpful Resources: 

Printable Version of Spring 2019 Academic Calendar

Printable Version of Fall 2019 Academic Calendar



Special Days of Concern

West Virginia University’s diverse student body includes students from a wide variety of faith communities. Religious holidays from different faith traditions occasionally fall on regular class days or scheduled exam days throughout the year.

Faculty are encouraged to respect the religious observances of our students of all faiths and denominations.

When a scheduled class or lab session falls on an observed religious holiday, this may mean excusing students from attending class and accepting make-up work. (Students are responsible for requesting accommodation for their absence in advance and for making up any missed work.)

The Office of Diversity, Equity and InclusionOffice of Global Affairs, and the Provost's Officeare available as resources to support Instructors review of religious holiday accommodation requests.

The following website may be helpful in identifying the high holy days of various religions:

Other events that may justify an excused absence include illness of the student, illness of an immediate family member, death of an immediate family member, or extreme weather.

Absences stemming from work duties other than military obligation (e.g., unexpected changes in shift assignments) and traffic/transit problems should not typically qualify for excused absence.

If an instructor chooses to allow excused absences for these other events, the stated attendance

policy for the course should specify the number of days that may be missed and instructions for contacting the instructor for the excused absence.

Instructors may request third party documentation.

West Virginia University's institutional attendance policy may be found in the WVU Catalog.

Faculty members who have questions or concerns about the academic calendar should send an email to Shirley Robinson in the Provost's Office.